DHL Stormers take Jaguares down at DHL Newlands

PUBLISHED: February 22, 2020

The DHL Stormers made it four straight wins this season with a 17-7 victory against the Jaguares at DHL Newlands on Saturday.

Two second-half tries saw seal the win and consolidate their place at the top of the South African conference as the only unbeaten team left in the competition.

The DHL Stormers established early territorial dominance and that translated into the only points of the first half as Damian Willemse kicked a penalty from right in front after the Jaguares had strayed offside.

The DHL Stormers were down to 14 men shortly afterwards when tighthead prop Frans Malherbe was shown a yellow card for a dangerous tackle.

Wilco Louw came off the replacements bench to earn his 50th DHL Stormers cap and made an immediate impact by earning a few scrum penalties with Jamie Roberts on the flank.

The DHL Stormers kept threatening and came within inches of scoring the first try with a maul in the corner, but the visitors held on to keep it to 3-0 at half-time.

The pressure told five minutes into the second half as a spilled ball from the Jaguares was snapped up by scrumhalf Herschel Jantjies, who raced away for the opening try.

The home side kept riding that momentum and had their second try before long, with the forwards making good gains up the middle of the pitch before a good pick-up and pass from Willemse put centre Ruhan Nel over.

The Jaguares became the first team to score a try against the DHL Stormers at DHL Newlands this season when No.8 Rodrigo Bruni got over, but those were to be their only points of the afternoon in the end as the DHL Stormers closed out the win.

The scorers:

For DHL Stormers:
Tries: Jantjies, Nel
Cons: Willemse 2
Pen: Willemse

For Jaguares:
Try: Bruni
Con: Miotti

DHL Stormers: 15 Dillyn Leyds, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Ruhan Nel, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 Seabelo Senatla, 10 Damian Willemse, 9 Herschel Jantjies, 8 Juarno Augustus, 7 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 6 Jaco Coetzee, 5 JD Schickerling, 4 Salmaan Moerat, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Steven Kitshoff (captain).
Replacements: 16 Chad Solomon, 17 Ali Vermaak, 18 Wilco Louw (50th DHL Stormers cap), 19 Chris van Zyl, 20 Johan du Toit, 21 Ernst van Rhyn, 22 Godlen Masimla, 23 Jean-Luc du Plessis.

Jaguares: 15 Emiliano Boffelli, 14 Bautista Delguy, 13 Santiago Chocobares, 12 Juan Cruz Mallia, 11 Sebastian Cancelliere, 10 Domingo Miotti, 9 Tomas Cubelli (c), 8 Rodrigo Bruni, 7 Tomas Lezana, 6 Francisco Gorrissen, 5 Lucas Paulos, 4 Matías Alemanno, 3 Santiago Medrano, 2 Santiago Socino, 1 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro.
Replacements: 16 Julian Montoya, 17 Mayco Vivas, 18 Joel Sclavi, 19 Guido Petti, 20 Marcos Kremer, 21 Gonzalo Bertranou, 22 Joaquin Diaz Bonilla, 23 Matias Moroni.