DHL Stormers step up pre-season on the road

PUBLISHED: August 31, 2022

A 39-man DHL Stormers training squad will leave Cape Town on Thursday for a short pre-season camp which includes friendly matches against South Western Districts and the Cell C Sharks.

The squad will be based in Wilderness for 10 days and play the South Western Districts Eagles at Outeniqua Park in Goerge on Friday before taking on the Cell C Sharks at Grey High School in Gqeberha the following Friday.

While pre-season preparations have been ongoing for some time already, this trip will give the wider training squad a chance to get some gametime ahead of what will be a demanding season of Vodacom United Rugby Championship and Heineken Champions Cup action.

DHL Stormers Head Coach John Dobson said that the matches against the Eagles and Cell C Sharks will be invaluable with the first Vodacom United Rugby Championship game of the season just three weeks away.

“Pre-season friendlies are always vital to get a sense of where the players are at and put them under some match pressure.

“We are looking forward to seeing how the players react and giving everyone a chance to showcase their skills while also building some cohesion as a squad ahead of what will be a very tough season.

“Our depth will be tested this season, so we need to give some match exposure to as many players as possible while also ensuring that we are all aligned on how we want to go about things,” he said.

DHL Stormers training squad: Clayton Blommetjies, Kwenzo Blose, Hacjivah Dayimani, Juan de Jongh, Paul de Villiers, Paul de Wet, Ben-Jason Dixon, Dan du Plessis, Willie Engelbrecht, Connor Evans, Neethling Fouche, Brok Harris, Suleiman Hartzenberg, Chris Hollis, Imad Khan, JJ Kotze, Tristan Leyds, Manie Libbok, Leon Lyons, Godlen Masimla, Lee-Marvin Mazibuko, Sacha Mngomezulu, Ruhan Nel, Marvin Orie, Junior Pokomela, Gary Porter, Sazi Sandi, Seabelo Senatla, Cornel Smit, Adre Smith, Chad Solomon, Marcel Theunissen, Stefan Ungerer, Ernst van Rhyn, Andre-Hugo Venter, Ali Vermaak, Kade Wolhuter, Nama Xaba, Mnombo Zwelendaba.