DHL Stormers stars up for SA Rugby awards

PUBLISHED: December 15, 2019

DHL Stormers players Pieter-Steph du Toit, Herschel Jantjies and Damian Willemse were nominated in a number of the main categories in the annual SA Rugby Awards.

World Player of the year Du Toit, a two-time winner of the SA Rugby Player of the Year Award, was nominated for both the top award and the Vodacom Super Rugby Player of the Tournament for his performances in a DHL Stormers jersey.

Scrumhalf Jantjies had a breakthrough season for both the DHL Stormers and the Springboks and was nominated for SA Rugby Young Player of the Year along with his DHL Stormers teammate and halfback partner Damian Willemse.

The Springboks and Rassie Erasmus, who were also honoured at the World Rugby Awards last month, have been nominated in the prestigious Team and Player of the Year categories.

Neil Powell and the Blitzboks, and Franco Smith and his Currie Cup-winning Toyota Free State Cheetahs side are the other nominees in these categories.

Up for the award of Junior Springbok Player of the Year are SA U20 captain Phendulani Buthelezi, Jaden Hendrikse and JJ van der Mescht, while Kurt-Lee Arendse, Selvyn Davids, Werner Kok and Blitzbok captain Siviwe Soyizwapi have been nominated for the Springbok Sevens Player of the Year award.

“We can look back on a wonderful year capped by the Springboks’ magnificent performances in winning the Rugby World Cup and the Castle Lager Rugby Championship, which were the cherry on top for rugby in South Africa after a number of couple of tough years,” said Mr Mark Alexander, President of SA Rugby.

“The Springboks’ resurgence under Rassie Erasmus and his coaching team culminated in Japan and their nominations are testimony to this.

“We’re also very proud of the Blitzboks and Neil Powell. They were in a rebuilding phase and although they didn’t defend their World Series crown, they qualified for the 2020 Tokyo Olympics and we back them to repeat the Springboks’ success from this year in Japan.

“I would like to congratulate all the nominees for their outstanding performances over the last year and wish them well for 2020, which is an important year for us as we simply have to take the success of the last few months into the new season.”

Other categories where awards will be made are: Craven Week Player of the Tournament, Outsurance Referee of the Year, Springbok Women’s Achiever of the Year, and Club Player of the Year.

Details of the announcement of the winners’ names will be made early in the new season next year.

The nominees are (in alphabetical order):

SA Rugby Player of the Year
1 Damian de Allende
2 Pieter-Steph du Toit
3 Cheslin Kolbe
4 Makazole Mapimpi
5 Duane Vermeulen

SA Rugby Young Player of the Year
1 Curwin Bosch
2 Herschel Jantjies
3 Sbu Nkosi
4 JJ van der Mescht
5 Damian Willemse

Team of the Year
1 Toyota Free State Cheetahs
2 Springboks
3 Springbok Sevens

Coach of the Year
1 Rassie Erasmus
2 Neil Powell
3 Franco Smith

Junior Springbok Player of the Year
1 Phendulani Buthelezi
2 Jaden Hendrikse
3 JJ van der Mescht

Springbok Sevens Player of the Year
1 Kurt-Lee Arendse
2 Selvyn Davids
3 Werner Kok
4 Siviwe Soyizwapi

Vodacom Super Rugby Player of the Tournament
1 Pieter-Steph du Toit (DHL Stormers)
2 Handre Pollard (Vodacom Bulls)
3 Duane Vermeulen (Vodacom Bulls)

Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year
1 Joseph Dweba (Toyota Free State Cheetahs)
2 Tyrone Green (Xerox Golden Lions)
3 Ruan Pienaar (Toyota Free State Cheetahs)

Currie Cup First Division Player of the Year
1 Cody-Anthony Basson (Down Touch Griffons)
2 Athenkosi Mayinje (EP Elephants)
3 Domingo Miotti (Jaguares XV)
4 Robbie Petzer (Down Touch Griffons)

SuperSport Rugby Challenge Player of the Year
1 Jamba Ulengo (Toyota FS Cheetahs XV)
2 Anthony Volmink (Tafel Lager Griquas)
3 George Whitehead (Tafel Lager Griquas)

SA Rugby Associate Member of the Year:
1 SA Deaf Rugby Association (SADRA)
2 SA Rugby League Sporting Associations (SARLSA)
3 SA Schools Rugby Association (SASRA)
4 SA Wheelchair Rugby (SAWR)