DHL Stormers squad for Lions clash

PUBLISHED: February 9, 2017

DHL Stormers Head Coach Robbie Fleck has named a 30-man squad for his team’s pre-season friendly against the Emirates Lions at DHL Newlands on Saturday.

The match, which kicks off at 15h00 on Saturday, will be the final warm-up match for Fleck’s team before their Vodacom Super Rugby opener against the Vodacom Bulls at DHL Newlands on February 25.

It will also be the first chance for the DHL Newlands Faithful to see their team in action following pre-season victories against the Toyota Cheetahs in Zimbabwe and the South Western District Eagles in George.

Fleck said that the players are looking forward to running out in front of their supporters at DHL Newlands.

“It is always special to play at DHL Newlands and after a tough pre-season the players are excited to play in front of our fans,” he said.

The DHL Stormers Head Coach added that the match will be a valuable indicator of where his squad is at two weeks out from the start of their campaign.

“We have worked hard over the past couple of months, so we want to put that into practice against the Lions who were one of the form teams in the competition last year.

“It will be important for us to look at certain combinations and make sure that everyone has some good gametime under their belts before the season gets underway,” he said.

Tickets for the clash are on sale from wprugby.computicket.com and the stadium box office and will cost R50 with season tickets NOT VALID for the warm-up match.

Scholars tickets are available for R10, but these are exclusively for under-18s and grant access to the dedicated sholars area on the Jan Pickard Stand.

Supporters are encouraged to book their tickets early in order to avoid lengthy queues on matchday.

DHL Stormers squad: Juarno Augustus, Nizaam Carr, Jaco Coetzee, Juan de Jongh, Dan du Plessis, Jean-Luc du Plessis, Rob du Preez, Dewaldt Duvenage, Rynhardt Elstadt, JC Janse van Rensburg, Cheslin Kolbe, Siya Kolisi, Dan Kriel, Dillyn Leyds, Wilco Louw, Frans Malherbe, SP Marais, Bongi Mbonambi, Sikhumbuzo Notshe, Caylib Oosthuizen, Ramone Samuels, JD Shickerling, Chris van Zyl, Jano Vermaak, EW Viljoen, Cobus Wiese, Damian Willemse, Eduard Zandberg, Leolin Zas.

CLICK HERE to buy tickets for DHL Stormers pre-season friendly against Emirates Lions

CLICK HERE to renew season tickets.

CLICK HERE to buy new season tickets.