DHL Stormers shut Hurricanes out at DHL Newlands

PUBLISHED: February 1, 2020

The DHL Stormers started the 2020 Vodacom Super Rugby season with an emphatic 27-0 bonus-point win against the Hurricanes at DHL Newlands on Saturday.

The home side scored four unanswered tries in a polished display against the New Zealand outfit in the first game of the final season at DHL Newlands.

The DHL Stormers got on the front foot early on, marching into the 22 where they launched a maul and brought the ball in front of the poles where scrumhalf Herschel Jantjies put in a clever cross-kick to find an unmarked Sergeal Petersen out wide.

View the latest Stormers Mag

A turnover near halfway from lock Salmaan Moerat gave them their next attacking opportunity and the forwards took control, with prop Steven Kitshoff crashing over in the corner.

The third try came as a result of defensive pressure as Jantjies snapped up a bouncing pass and raced away to score.

The DHL Stormers then showed good defensive discipline to hold the Hurricanes out and keep them scoreless at the half-time break.

The visitors were shown two yellow cards at the start of the second half, with the DHL Stormers stretching their lead to 22-0 with a Damian Willemse penalty on the hour mark.

The fourth try came at the death as an intercept in the 22 turned defence into attack and Willemse raced away to score and put the seal on an emphatic performance.

The scorers:

For DHL Stormers:
Tries: Petersen, Kitshoff, Jantjies, Willemse
Cons: Willemse 2
Pen: Willemse

DHL Stormers: 15 Dillyn Leyds, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Ruhan Nel, 12 Jamie Roberts (DHL Stormers debut), 11 Seabelo Senatla, 10 Damian Willemse, 9 Herschel Jantjies, 8 Siya Kolisi (captain), 7 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 6 Jaco Coetzee, 5 Chris van Zyl, 4 Salmaan Moerat, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Steven Kitshoff.
Replacements: 16 Scarra Ntubeni, 17 Ali Vermaak, 18 Wilco Louw, 19 David Meihuizen, 20 Ernst van Rhyn, 21 Johan du Toit, 22 Godlen Masimla, 23 Rikus Pretorius (DHL Stormers debut).

Hurricanes: 15 Jordie Barrett, 14 Wes Goosen, 13 Billy Proctor, 12 Ngani Laumape, 11 Ben Lam, 10 Fletcher Smith, 9 TJ Perenara (captain), 8 Gareth Evans, 7 Du’Plessis Kirifi, 6 Reed Prinsep, 5 Scott Scrafton, 4 James Blackwell, 3 Tyrel Lomax, 2 Ricky Riccitelli, 1 Fraser Armstrong.
Replacements: 16 Asafo Auma, 17 Pouri Rakete-Stones, 18 Tevita Mafileo, 19 Vaea Fifita, 20 Devan Flanders, 21 Jamie Booth, 22 Jackson Garden-Bachop, 23 Vince Aso.