DHL Stormers see off Reds at DHL Newlands

PUBLISHED: March 24, 2018

The DHL Stormers secured a 25-19 win against the Reds on Saturday, to keep their unbeaten run at DHL Newlands this season going.

Both teams scored three tries at DHL Newlands, but it was the DHL Stormers who showed composure to close the game out and take the win.

The DHL Stormers opened the scoring early on with a penalty from flyhalf Damian Willemse and they followed that up with a brilliant counter-attack try.

A deep kick from the Reds was fielded by Dewaldt Duvenage who swung it out to Raymond Rhule. The wing then drew two defenders before getting the ball away to EW Viljoen who tore down the touchline before finding Duvenage in support, with the scrumhalf finishing in the corner.

After that slick backline try it was time for the DHL Stormers forwards to show what they are capable of. A series of powerful drives up the middle eventually created the momentum for Wilco Louw to power over for a second try.

A second Willemse penalty took the DHL Stormers lead out to 18-0, before the Reds got on the scoreboard with a late try from No.8 Caleb Timu to make it 18-7 at half-time.

The Reds struck first in the second half, with hooker Alex Mafi forcing his way over for a try to make it 18-14.

The DHL Stormers hit back with an impressive set-piece try, as a monster scrum set the platform and it was swung wide to wing Craig Barry, who put in a perfect grubber for Rhule to score in the corner.

The DHL Stormers pressed hard for a fourth try, but it was not to be and the Reds would have the final say as a runaway try from wing Filipo Daugunu saw them salvage a losing bonus point.

The scorers:

For DHL Stormers:
Tries: Duvenage, Louw, Rhule
Cons: Willemse 2
Pen: Willemse

For Reds:
Tries: Timu, Mafi, Daugunu
Cons: Lance 2

DHL Stormers: 15 George Whitehead, 14 Craig Barry, 13 EW Viljoen, 12 Damian De Allende, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Damian Willemse, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Cobus Wiese, 6 Siya Kolisi (captain), 5 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4 Jan de Klerk, 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Ramone Samuels, 1 JC Janse van Rensburg.
Replacements: 16 Dean Muir, 17 Steven Kitshoff, 18 Carlu Sadie, 19 Chris van Zyl, 20 Kobus van Dyk, 21 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 22 Justin Phillips, 23 Joshua Stander.

Reds: 15 Aidan Toua, 14 Filipo Daugunu, 13 Samu Kerevi, 12 Duncan Paia’aua, 11 Chris Feauai-Sautia, 10 Jono Lance, 9 Ben Lucas, 8 Caleb Timu, 7 Adam Korczyk, 6 Angus Scott-Young, 5 Kane Douglas, 4 Izack Rodda, 3 Taniela Tupou, 2 Alex Mafi, 1 James Slipper (captain).
Replacements: 16 Brandon Paenga-Amosa, 17 Jean-Pierre Smith, 18 Sef Fa’agase, 19 Harry Hockings, 20 Scott Higginbotham, 21 Tate McDermott, 22 Hamish Stewart, 23 Eto Nabuli.