DHL Stormers push Munster all the way

PUBLISHED: November 18, 2023

The DHL Stormers fought valiantly until the final whistle, but went down 3-10 against Munster at Thomond Park on Saturday night.

It was a tough Vodacom United Rugby Championship battle which was dominated by defence on both sides and the DHL Stormers put up a brave performance in difficult conditions, with rain falling throughout the match.

The DHL Stormers defended doggedly and managed to create some pressure with their contestable kicking game and dominant scrum.

The home side scored first with a penalty 15 minutes in and the game was in the balance until just before half-time when a series of Munster mauls resulted in a yellow card for DHL Stormers captain Neethling Fouche.

The home side forced their way over for a try shortly afterwards and took a 10-0 advantage into the half-time break.

The DHL Stormers made a determined start to the second half and camped in the opposition 22 until they earned a penalty, which was kicked over by Sacha Feinberg-Mngomezulu.

No.8 Evan Roos managed to force his way over the tryline twice in the second half, but was held up both times and the visitors could not convert their dominance into points.

They kept fighting until the final whistle and despite keeping Munster scoreless in the second half, could not find a way through and had to settle for a single bonus point.

The scorers:

For DHL Stormers:

For Munster:
Con: Crowley
Pen: Crowley

DHL Stormers: 15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Ben Loader, 13 Ruhan Nel, 12 Sacha Feinberg-Mngomezulu, 11 Leolin Zas, 10 Jean-Luc du Plessis, 9 Paul de Wet, 8 Evan Roos, 7 Ben-Jason Dixon, 6 Willie Engelbrecht, 5 Gary Porter, 4 Ruben van Heerden, 3 Neethling Fouche (captain), 2 Joseph Dweba, 1 Sti Sithole.
Replacements: 16 Andre-Hugo Venter, 17 Ali Vermaak, 18 Brok Harris, 19 Adre Smith, 20 Keke Morabe, 21 Herschel Jantjies, 22 Angelo Davids, 23 Clayton Blommetjies.