DHL Stormers overpower Blues at DHL Newlands

PUBLISHED: May 19, 2017

The DHL Stormers got back to winning ways with a hard-fought 30-22 victory againt the Blues at DHL Newlands on Friday.

It was the seventh win of the season for the DHL Stormers and their second against New Zealand opposition having beaten the Chiefs at DHL Newlands earlier in the season.

The DHL Stormers struck first with a penalty from fullback SP Marais and received a further boost when the visitors were reduced to 14 men as wing Matt Duffie was shown a yellow card.

However, the DHL Stormers also lost a player to the sin bin shortly afterwards when Eben Etzebeth was shown a yellow card following a scuffle off the ball.

The Blues took that opportunity to go over for the opening try, with centre George Moala bursting over to score.

They followed that up with another try from skipper James Parson who went over in the corner to make it 12-3.

The DHL Stormers kept thir composure well and showed good patience to score on the stroke of half-time with captain Siya Kolisi powering his way over next to the poles to cut the Blues lead to 12-10 at the break.

The Blues were first to strike in the second half with flank Blake Gibson going over to give them a 19-10 buffer.

The DHL Stormers brought themselves back within range through a Marais penalty and they were back in front before long as Dillyn Leyds showed great awareness to take a quick tap and dive over to score after the hosts had shown great patience in the opposition 22.

The Blues were struck a further blow when Duffie was show his second yellow card, which saw them play out the rest of the game with 14 men.

The DHL Stormers duly took advantage as replacement loose forward Sikhumbuzo Notshe forced his way over for a third try on the back of a powerful carry from Damian de Allende which put them 27-19 ahead with 10 minutes left.

The Blues hit back with a penalty from replacement flyhalf Bryn Gatland, but the DHL Stormers responded with two more penalties of their own from Marais which sealed the hard-fought victory

The scorers:

For DHL Stormers:
Tries: Kolisi, Leyds, Notshe
Cons: Marais 3
Pens: Marais 3

For Blues:
Tries: Moala, Parsons, Gibson
Cons: Francis 2
Pen: Gatland

DHL Stormers: 15 SP Marais, 14 Cheslin Kolbe, 13 EW Viljoen, 12 Shaun Treeby, 11 Seabelo Senatla, 10 Dillyn Leyds, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Siya Kolisi (captain), 6 Kobus van Dyk, 5 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4 Eben Etzebeth (vice-captain), 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Oli Kebble.
Replacements: 16 Ramone Samuels, 17 Ali Vermaak, 18 Wilco Louw, 19 Jan de Klerk, 20 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 21 Jano Vermaak, 22 Brandon Thomson, 23 Damian de Allende.

Blues: 15 Melani Nanai, 14 Matt Duffie, 13 George Moala, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 Rieko Ioane, 10 Piers Francis, 9 Augustine Pulu, 8 Akira Ioane, 7 Blake Gibson, 6 Steven Luatua, 5 Scott Scrafton, 4 Gerard Cowley-Tuioti, 3 Charlie Faumuina, 2 James Parsons, 1 Ofa Tu’ungafasi.
Replacements: 16 Hame Faiva, 17 Alex Hodgman, 18 Sione Mafileo, 19 Patrick Tuipulotu, 20 Kara Pryor, 21 Sam Nock, 22 Bryn Gatland, 23 Michael Collins.