DHL Stormers leaders return to face Sunwolves

PUBLISHED: July 6, 2017

DHL Stormers captain Siya Kolisi and vice-captain Eben Etzebeth return for the Vodacom Super Rugby encounter with the Sunwolves at DHL Newlands on Saturday.

Both Kolisi and Etzebeth were rested last week for the trip to Bloemfontein to face the Toyota Cheetahs, but will be back in action on home turf for the Sunwolves clash which kicks off at 19h30 on Saturday.

Also back in the starting line-up this week is centre Damian de Allende, who forms a new midfield combination with EW Viljoen following injuries to Shaun Treeby and Juan de Jongh.

Dillyn Leyds will start at fullback in place of the injured SP Marais, with Seabelo Senatla starting on the wing and the experienced Bjorn Basson on the replacements bench.

With both Sikhumbuzo Notshe and Kobus van Dyk having suffered knee injuries during the week, World Rugby U20 Championship Player of the tournament Juarno Augustus will make his DHL Stormers debut on the flank to join captain Kolisi and Nizaam Carr in the loose trio.

Etzebeth links up with Pieter-Steph du Toit in the second row, with both Chris van Zyl and JD Schickerling included amongst the replacements.

In the front row Bongi Mbonambi starts at hooker alongside JC Janse van Rensburg and Frans Malherbe, with Ramone Samuels joining Steven Kitshoff and Wilco Louw on the replacements bench.

DHL Stormers Head Coach Robbie Fleck said that his team is excited to be playing at DHL Newlands again.

“It has been quite some time since we played in front of our fans at DHL Newlands, so the players are determined to make the most of that.

“We want to make a step up in all areas of our game and lift the intensity as much as possible,” he said.

DHL Stormers: 15 Dillyn Leyds, 14 Cheslin Kolbe, 13 EW Viljoen, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Seabelo Senatla, 10 Damian Willemse, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Juarno Augustus, 6 Siya Kolisi (captain), 5 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4 Eben Etzebeth (vice-captain), 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 JC Janse van Rensburg.
Replacements: 16 Ramone Samuels, 17 Steven Kitshoff, 18 Wilco Louw, 19 Chris van Zyl, 20 JD Schickerling, 21 Justin Phillips, 22 Dan Kriel, 23 Bjorn Basson.