DHL Stormers hold off Bulls at DHL Newlands

PUBLISHED: February 8, 2020

The DHL Stormers made it two wins from two matches this season with a 13-0 victory against the Vodacom Bulls at DHL Newlands on Saturday.

The two-try shut-out means that the DHL Stormers are yet to concede a single point in their two games this season, following on from their 27-0 win against the Hurricanes last week.

The first points came from the boot of flyhalf Damian Willemse as he split the poles after just three minutes with a penalty after Pieter-Steph du Toit was tackled high.

The Vodacom Bulls kept the ball for long periods, but were unable to find a way through the resolute DHL Stormers defence, which held up well under pressure.

Quick-thinking from centre Ruhan Nel got the DHL Stormers in a good position as he took a quick tap and then kicked into the 22. Pieter-Steph du Toit was up to make the tackle and Seabelo Senatla won a penalty at the breakdown to give the home side the opportunity they needed.

The forwards launched a maul in the corner, with some of the backs joining in and it was hooker Scarra Ntubeni who came up with the try from a powerful maul.

That put the DHL Stormers 8-0 up at half-time, making it three halves of rugby this season without conceding a point.

They stretched that lead to 13-0 after 10 minutes in the second half as some slick hands from both forwards and backs put Seabelo Senatla away down the touchline and the flyer cruised in for the second try.

The Vodacom Bulls threw absolutely everything at them in the final stages, but there was no way through as the DHL Stormers defence stood firm time and again to close out the second straight win of the season.

The scorers:

For DHL Stormers:
Tries: Ntubeni, Senatla
Pen: Willemse

DHL Stormers: 15 Dillyn Leyds, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Ruhan Nel, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 Seabelo Senatla, 10 Damian Willemse, 9 Herschel Jantjies, 8 Johan du Toit, 7 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 6 Jaco Coetzee, 5 Chris van Zyl, 4 Salmaan Moerat, 3 Frans Malherbe (100th DHL Stormers cap), 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Steven Kitshoff.
Replacements: 16 Chad Solomon, 17 Ali Vermaak, 18 Wilco Louw, 19 Cobus Wiese, 20 Ernst van Rhyn, 21 Juarno Augustus, 22 Godlen Masimla, 23 Jean-Luc du Plessis.

Vodacom Bulls: Warrick Gelant, Cornal Hendricks, Johnny Kotze, Burger Odendaal (captain), Rosko Specman, Morné Steyn, Ivan van Zyl, Josh Strauss, Abongile Nonkontwana, Jeandré Rudolph, Juandré Kruger, Andries Ferreira,Trevor Nyakane, Jaco Visagie, Lizo Gqoboka.
Replacements: Johan Grobbelaar, Gerhard Steenekamp, Wiehahn Herbst, Ruan Nortje, Wian Vosloo, Embrose Papier, Manie Libbok, Divan Rossouw.