DHL Stormers go down in Belfast

PUBLISHED: January 27, 2023

The DHL Stormers went down 35-5 against Ulster in a Vodacom United Rugby Championship encounter at Kingspan Stadium on Friday night.

It was a frustrating outing for the DHL Stormers, with injuries disrupting the team before the game and in the first half.

The home side scored three unanswered tries in the first half, to take control of the game.

The DHL Stormers also suffered injuries to key players in hooker JJ Kotze, No.8 Evan Roos and flyhalf Jean-Luc du Plessis, which made things even more difficult for them.

Scrumhalf Nathan Doak, wing Ben Moxham and flank Nick Timoney all scored for Ulster to give them a comfortable 21-0 lead at half-time.

The DHL Stormers were down to 14 early in the second half when Ben-Jason Dixon was shown a yellow card for a high tackle and Ulster took advantage with a fourth try, scored by prop Jeff Toomaga-Allen.

Fullback Mike Lowry got over for the fifth and to their credit the DHL Stormers never stopped pushing.

They dominated possession in the late stages of the game and finally got some reward with a try from replacement Andre-Hugo Venter, but it was little more than a consolation in the end.

The scorers:

For DHL Stormers:

For Ulster:
Doak, Moxham, Timoney, Toomaga-Allen, Lowry
Cons: Doak 4, Coony

DHL Stormers: 15 Kade Wolhuter, 14 Suleiman Hartzenberg, 13 Ruhan Nel, 12 Sacha Feinberg-Mngomezulu, 11 Cornel Smit, 10 Jean-Luc du Plessis, 9 Stefan Ungerer, 8 Evan Roos, 7 Willie Engelbrecht, 6 Marcel Theunissen, 5 Marvin Orie (captain), 4 Ben-Jason Dixon, 3 Brok Harris, 2 JJ Kotze, 1 Ali Vermaak.
Replacements: 16 Scarra Ntubeni, 17 Kwenzo Blose, 18 Sazi Sandi, 19 Ruben van Heerden, 20 Connor Evans, 21 Andre-Hugo Venter, 22 Herschel Jantjies, 23 Juan de Jongh.

Ulster: Mike Lowry, Rob Lyttle, James Hume, Stewart Moore, Ben Moxham, Billy Burns, Nathan Doak; Duane Vermeulen, Nick Timoney, Harry Sheridan, Sam Carter, Alan O’Connor, Jeff Toomaga-Allen, Tom Stewart, Eric O’Sullivan.
Replacements: John Andrew, Rory Sutherland, Andrew Warwick, Kieran Treadwell, Jordi Murphy, John Cooney, Ian Madigan, Ethan McIlroy.