DHL Stormers forced to change two for semifinal

PUBLISHED: May 12, 2023

There are two injury-enforced changes to the DHL Stormers starting line-up for the Vodacom United Rugby Championship semifinal at DHL Stadium on Saturday.

With Deon Fourie and Marvin Orie ruled out, Willie Engelbrecht will start on the flank and Ben-Jason Dixon comes in at lock for the knock-out clash with Irish side Connacht, which kicks off at 16h00 on Saturday.

A large crowd is expected, so spectators are encouraged to park remotely, catch a free MyCiti Bus shuttle from the CTICC, Thibault Square or Civic Centre bus stations and plan to arrive at least two hours before kick-off. No umbrellas will be allowed inside DHL Stadium.

Gates at DHL Stadium will open at 13h30, with a beer garden and Red Bull DJ playing live. CLICK HERE for all you need to know ahead of the game.

There are three new faces on the replacements bench, with lock Connor Evans, flank Marcel Theunissen and utility back Jean-Luc du Plessis included for the semifinal.

DHL Stormers Head Coach John Dobson said that his team is ready to give their all on Saturday.

“We are thrilled to be hosting another semifinal and with another big crowd coming out, we want to repay the incredible support we enjoy with a fitting performance.

“While it is disappointing not to have Deon and Marvin in the team, we have every confidence in the players who have come in, who have all proven their worth for us already this season.

“It will be another great occasion at DHL Stadium and we will be doing everything we can to make our supporters proud,” he said.

DHL Stormers: 15 Damian Willemse, 14 Angelo Davids, 13 Ruhan Nel, 12 Dan du Plessis, 11 Leolin Zas, 10 Manie Libbok, 9 Herschel Jantjies, 8 Evan Roos, 7 Hacjivah Dayimani, 6 Willie Engelbrecht, 5 Ruben van Heerden, 4 Ben-Jason Dixon, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Joseph Dweba, 1 Steven Kitshoff (captain).
Replacements: 16 JJ Kotze, 17 Ali Vermaak, 18 Neethling Fouche, 19 Connor Evans, 20 Marcel Theunissen, 21 Paul de Wet, 22 Jean-Luc du Plessis, 23 Sacha Feinberg-Mngomezulu.