DHL Stormers flashback: Speedy success

PUBLISHED: April 24, 2024

Warrick Gelant and Seabelo Senatla were at the heart of the DHL Stormers’ thrilling comeback win against Leinster at the DHL Stadium in the 2021/22 Vodacom United Rugby Championship.

The speedsters, together with Leolin Zas, formed a dangerous back three during a title-winning campaign for the DHL Stormers, as the Capetonians fully embraced the attacking brand of rugby synonymous with the franchise.

The first half was a tight affair as both teams tried to stamp their authority – although the DHL Stormers came close in the opening seconds – but neither was unable to cross the try-line. Ruhan Nel’s try, after a great break by Gelant, was called back for obstruction. A pair of penalties from flyhalf Ciaran Frawley gave Leinster a 6-3 lead at the break.

Leinster were then dealt a blow as hooker John McKee received a yellow card after a string of repeated infringements, and the hosts capitalised with Gelant dotting down in style to clinch the lead after sustained pressure close to the try-line.

Unforced errors denied the DHL Stormers from capitalising on three fantastic try-scoring opportunities for Senatla, Gelant and Hacjivah Dayimani.

Just reward for waves of attack, Senatla finally broke through in the 53rd minute when he dotted down in the corner.

The visitors hit back with a well-worked try by prop Ed Byrne and the conversion levelled the scores at 13-13 at the start of the final quarter.

The hosts reaped the reward for sustained pressure as Leinster’s poor discipline resulted in a penalty try that sent scrumhalf Cormac Foley to the sin-bin, and sealed a 20-13 DHL Stormers victory on the road to the title.