DHL Stormers dig deep to take the spoils

PUBLISHED: May 21, 2022

The DHL Stormers scored in the final seconds to claim a 26-21 bonus point win against Scarlets in Llanelli which saw them win the South African Shield and secure a home quarterfinal.

Centre Ruhan Nel scored his second try with the scores level and time up on the clock to seal a dramatic win.

That mans that DHL Stadium will host a Vodacom United Rugby Championship quarterfinal, with the DHL Stormers opponents to be determined by other results.

The home side made a fast start, with an early penalty and a try taking them out to a 10-0 lead.

The DHL Stormers regrouped and came up with a try of their own as Leolin Zas crossed for his 11th of the season follwing a convincing build-up which started with a scrum in the 22.

The Scarlets stretched their lead with two more penalties, but the DHL Stormers had the final say in the first half as Evan Roos crashed over just before half-time to reduce the deficit to just 16-14 at the break, making it anyone’s game in the second half.

The DHL Stormers hit the lead for the first time in the game early in the second half as Ruhan Nel glided through a gap to go over for the third try.

They were struck a blow on the hour mark however, when Deon Fourie was shown a yellow card after the TMO decided that he had made a dangerous tackle.

The hoss drew level with less than 10 minutes to play as wing Ryan Conbeer scored in the corner.

The DHL Stormers had to dig deep and they came up with the goods in the final play of the match as Nel went over for his second try to seal the win.

The scorers:

For DHL Stormers:
Zas, Roos, Nel 2
Cons: Libbok 3

For Scarlets:
Williams, Conbeer
Con: Costelow
Pens: Costelow 3

DHL Stormers: 15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Seabelo Senatla, 13 Ruhan Nel, 12 Damian Willemse, 11 Leolin Zas, 10 Manie Libbok, 9 Stefan Ungerer, 8 Evan Roos, 7 Hacjivah Dayimani, 6 Deon Fourie, 5 Marvin Orie, 4 Salmaan Moerat, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 JJ Kotze, 1 Steven Kitshoff (captain).
Replacements: 16 Andre-Hugo Venter, 17 Brok Harris, 18 Neethling Fouche, 19 Ernst van Rhyn, 20 Nama Xaba, 21 Marcel Theunissen, 22 Godlen Masimla, 23 Cornel Smit.

Scarlets: 15 Tom Rogers, 14 Liam Williams, 13 Jonathan Davies (captain), 12 Johnny Williams, 11 Ryan Conbeer, 10 Sam Costelow, 9 Gareth Davies, 8 Sione Kalamafoni, 7 Josh Macleod, 6 Aaron Shingler, 5 Jac Price, 4 Tom Price, 3 Javan Sebastian, 2 Shaun Evans, 1 Steff Thomas.
Replacements: 16 Daf Hughes, 17 Phil Price, 18 WillGriff John, 19 Morgan Jones, 20 Tomas Lezana, 21 Kieran Hardy, 22 Rhys Patchell, 23 Joe Roberts.