DHL Stormers change four for Highlanders

PUBLISHED: April 30, 2014

DHL Stormers head coach Allister Coetzee has made four changes ahead of Saturday afternoon’s Vodacom Super Rugby home clash against the Highlanders.

The DHL Stormers will take on the high-riding Highlanders at DHL Newlands at 15h00 with fit-again hooker Scarra Ntubeni back in the front row and hard-running winger Sailosi Tagicakibau wearing the No.11 shirt.

In other changes, meanwhile, experienced Springbok flank Schalk Burger comes in for Siya Kolisi at No.7 and Kurt Coleman will make his first start of 2014 in the flyhalf position.

“Having Scarra back to full fitness is a good thing for us. We have spoken about our set-piece, so it’s all about trying to get consistency there,” explained coach Coetzee to the www.iamastormer.com website.

“Players like Deon Fourie and Siya Kolisi can make a big impact for us off the bench – they’re game sharp and aware of the roles they need to fill.

“At the same time, I thought Schalk Burger and Kurt Coleman – who are starting this week – made big impacts off the bench against the Cheetahs,” added the DHL Stormers boss.

“Kurt, in particular, has been very patient. He started the season late because of injury after a strong Absa Currie Cup campaign in 2013 and he went on our Super Rugby tour without playing a minute. He deserves this starting opportunity after showing some good touches against the Cheetahs.”

The return of Tagicakibau means no place for Devon Williams in the matchday 23, but the young speedster will bolster the DHL WP Vodacom Cup team this weekend.

“Devon did well for us when he got an opportunity last week, but we have been happy with Sailosi on the wing and Damian de Allende has also been good on the other wing,” explained Coetzee.

* Tickets for this weekend can be bought online at TicketPros, or from selected Spar stores or PostNet outlets/stores. Ticket prices start at R50 for standing and R80 for seating.

The DHL Stormers team for Saturday (v the Highlanders) is as follows:

15. Jaco Taute
14. Damian de Allende
13. Juan de Jongh
12. Jean de Villiers (captain)
11. Sailosi Tagicakibau
10. Kurt Coleman
9. Nic Groom
8. Duane Vermeulen
7. Schalk Burger (vice-captain)
6. Nizaam Carr
5. Michael Rhodes
4. Ruan Botha
3. Frans Malherbe
2. Scarra Ntubeni
1. Steven Kitshoff

16. Deon Fourie
17. Oliver Kebble
18. Brok Harris
19. Jurie van Vuuren
20. Siya Kolisi
21. Louis Schreuder
22. Peter Grant
23. Kobus van Wyk

Referee: Craig Joubert (South Africa)