DHL Stormers breaking new ground in France

PUBLISHED: December 5, 2022

A 26-man DHL Stormers squad leaves for France on Monday ahead of their Heineken Champions Cup debut against ASM Clermont Auvergne on Saturday.

Springboks Steven Kitshoff and Damian Willemse make their return to the group for the historic match at the Parc des Sports Marcel Michelin.

There are five players in the trip with Heineken Champions Cup experience in Kitshoff, Joseph Dweba, Brok Harris, Deon Fourie and Alapati Leuia.

Flank Nama Xaba has been ruled out due to a minor injury, joining the likes of Seabelo Senatla, Sacha Feinberg-Mngomezulu, Evan Roos, Stefan Ungerer, Juan de Jongh, Adre Smith and Scarra Ntubeni who are all unavailable due to long-term injuries.

Frans Malherbe and Marvin Orie are being rested and will both be involved next week for the home game against London Irish.

Head Coach John Dobson said that he is pleased with the blend of youth and experience in the group for what is a big moment for the team.

“This will be an historic occasion for the DHL Stormers and we think we have a group that will be able to do this game justice.

“Some of our best players are back from international duty to join some players who have really put their hands up already in the Vodacom United Rugby Championship.

“We are all looking forward to the experience and want to take this opportunity to start the tournament with a big result away from home that will give us some real momentum,” he said.

DHL Stormers 26-man squad:

Forwards: Hacjivah Dayimani, Ben-Jason Dixon, Joseph Dweba, Connor Evans, Neethling Fouche, Deon Fourie, Brok Harris, Steven Kitshoff, Salmaan Moerat, Junior Pokomela, Gary Porter, Sazi Sandi, Marcel Theunissen, Ernst van Rhyn, Andre-Hugo Venter, Ali Vermaak.

Backs: Clayton Blommetjies, Angelo Davids, Paul de Wet, Dan du Plessis, Herschel Jantjies, Alapati Leuia, Manie Libbok, Ruhan Nel, Damian Willemse, Leolin Zas.