DHL Stormers back on top

PUBLISHED: May 19, 2012

It was cold and wet at DHL Newlands but the DHL Stormers capped off a good weekend for the host WP Union by beating the Waratahs, to go top of the SA and overall Super Rugby Conference logs, whilst earlier this weekend DHL WP won the Vodacom Cup in Kimberley.

Given the tough conditions and the Waratahs test match, territorial approach to the game, it was always going to be an arm-wrestle. In the end, the Stormers held on for a hard-earned 19-13 win over a passionate Waratahs team.

“We were satisfied with the win.” said coach Allister Coetzee. “It was like typical test match rugby. We knew the Tahs would look to turn us, play the territory and try and make us run from deep. We adapted well to the wet conditions and again ground out the win.”

The DHL Stormers have now gone 10 wins from 11 starts. The next two weeks see tough away local derbies against the Sharks and then the Bulls, before the teams break for the June international test window. “We are under no illusions as to what we are facing next week. The Sharks are playing with a lot of confidence and momentum and are looking extremely dangerous. “said the coach. “ We will be looking to have short intense sessions next week as we will want to put a fresh 22 out there for what will undoubtedly be a big local derby.”


DHL Stormers:
Tries: Pietersen, Liebenberg
Pens: Pietersen, Grant 2

Try: Horne
Con: McKibbin
Pens: McKibbin 2


STORMERS: 15 Joe Pietersen, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Jean de Villiers (captain), 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Peter Grant, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Jebb Sinclair, 7 Rynhardt Elstadt, 6 Siya Kolisi, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Brok Harris, 2 Tiaan Liebenberg, 1 Steven Kitshoff.

Replacements: 16 Deon Fourie, 17 Frans Malherbe, 18 De Kock Steenkamp, 19 Don Armand, 20 Louis Schreuder, 21 Burton Francis, 22 Gerhard van den Heever.

WARATAHS: 15 Bernard Foley, 14 Atieli Pakalani, 13 Rob Horne, 12 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 11 Tom Kingston, 10 Berrick Barnes, 9 Brendan McKibbin, 8 Dave Dennis, 7 Chris Alcock, 6 Rocky Elsom (captain), 5 Sitaleki Timani, 4 Dean Mumm, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 John Ulugia, 1 Benn Robinson.

Replacements: 16 John Mann-Rea, 17 Jeremy Tilse, 18 Kane Douglas, 19 Wycliff Palu, 20 Dave Dennis, 21 Sarel Pretorius, 22 Daniel Halangahu.

Referee: Craig Joubert (South Africa)

Assistant referees: Stuart Berry (South Africa), Christie du Preez (South Africa)

TMO: Shaun Veldsman (South Africa)