Conference battle key for DHL Stormers

PUBLISHED: January 31, 2017

The DHL Stormers need to finish on top of Africa Conference One in Vodacom Super Rugby 2017 in order to secure a third consecutive home quarterfinal.

If the DHL Stormers go on to claim a fifth conference title in seven years by finishing above the Vodacom Bulls, Toyota Cheetahs and Sunwolves, then they will be guaranteed a quarterfinal at DHL Newlands once again.

Africa Conference One: DHL Stormers, Vodacom Bulls, Toyota Cheetahs, Sunwolves
Africa Conference Two: Jaguares, Cell C Sharks, Southern Kings, Emirates Lions
New Zealand Conference: Blues, Highlanders, Hurricanes, Chiefs, Crusaders
Australian Conference: Waratahs, force, Reds, Rebels, Brumbies

SANZAAR has confirmed the qualification process for the finals. As in 2016 the teams winning places in the quarterfinals will be: the four Conference winners – who will host quarterfinal matches; and four wild card teams – determined by the tournament rules and final conference positions. The teams will be ranked 1-8 based on the final number of competition points attained and the following order.

Rank 1-4: Conference winners determined by final number competition points
Rank 5-8: Wild cards determined by final number competition points

The quarterfinal draw will be:

Quarterfinal 1: 1 v 8
Quarterfinal 2: 2 v 7
Quarterfinal 3: 3 v 6
Quarterfinal 4: 4 v 5.

In a change from 2016 the semifinal draw will be pre-determined [see below]. The semifinal host teams will be the highest ranked winners from the respective quarterfinals.

Semifinal 1: Winner QF 1 v Winner QF 4
Semifinal 2: Winner QF 2 v Winner QF 3