Bulls edge DHL Stormers at Loftus

PUBLISHED: May 21, 2016

The DHL Stormers fought hard but went down 17-13 against the Vodacom Bulls at Loftus Versfeld on Saturday.

The DHL Stormers fought hard but went down 17-13 against the Vodacom Bulls at Loftus Versfeld on Saturday.

In a typically physical South African derby both teams scored a try each, but it was the Vodacom Bulls who managed to finish the game with their noses in front.

The DHL Stormers started the game with real intent and were awarded an early penalty which Jean-Luc du Plessis had no trouble converting.

The home side levelled matters soon afterwards and the two flyhalves traded penalties again shortly afterwards to leave the match deadlocked at 6-6 after the opening 15 minutes.

The DHL Stormers enjoyed the majority of possession and territory as they put the Vodacom Bulls’ defence under some serious pressure.

Both flyhalves missed shots at goal in the latter stages of the first half, and the teams went into the half-time break deadlocked at 6-6.

The Vodacom Bulls were first to strike in the second half, as scrumhalf Piet van Zyl finished off a counter attack to go over for the first try of the game.

The home side extended their lead to 14-6 with a Brummer penalty shortly afterwards, while Du Plessis pulled a penalty attempt of his own wide.

To their credit, the DHL Stormers showed good patience in the face of some stern defence from the Vodacom Bulls, and they were eventually rewarded when Damian de Allende crossed for a deserved try in his 50th Vodacom Super Rugby game.

The conversion cut the Vodacom Bulls’ lead to 14-13 and set up a tense final 10 minutes with the game in the balance.

The home side worked their way into DHL Stormers territory and a drop-goal from replacement flyhalf Tian Schoeman was enough to secure the win in the end.

The scorers:

For Vodacom Bulls:
Try: Van Zyl
Pens: Brummer 3
DG: Schoeman

For DHL Stormers:
Try: De Allende
Con: Du Plessis
Pens: Du Plessis 2


Vodacom Bulls: 15 SP Marais, 14 Travis Ismaiel, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Jan Serfontein, 11 Jamba Ulengo, 10 Francois Brummer, 9 Piet van Zyl, 8 Arno Botha, 7 Jannes Kirsten, 6 Lappies Labuschagne, 5 RG Snyman, 4 Jason Jenkins, 3 Marcel van der Merwe, 2 Adriaan Strauss (captain), 1 Lizo Gqoboka.
Replacements: 16 Jaco Visagie, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Pierre Schoeman, 19 Grant Hattingh, 20 Deon Stegmann, 21 Rudy Paige, 22 Tian Schoeman, 23 Dries Swanepoel.

DHL Stormers: 15 Cheslin Kolbe, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Johnny Kotze, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Leolin Zas, 10 Jean-Luc du Plessis, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Schalk Burger, 7 Siya Kolisi, 6 Nizaam Carr, 5 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe (captain), 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Oli Kebble.
Replacements: 16 Scarra Ntubeni, 17 Alistair Vermaak, 18 Vincent Koch, 19 Rynhardt Elstadt, 20 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 21 Louis Schreuder, 22 Brandon Thomson, 23 Huw Jones.