DHL Stormers wider squad training hard

PUBLISHED: January 18, 2017

Preparations for the 2017 Vodacom Super Rugby season are in full swing at the High Performance Centre in Bellville, with 50 players working hard within a wider DHL Stormers training squad.

With the pre-season camp in Hermanus behind them, the wider training squad have set their sights on the upcoming pre-season games, under the guidance of Head Coach Robbie Fleck and his management team.

The first pre-season match will see the squad travel to Harare in Zimbabwe to face the Toyota Cheetahs, with competition for places on that trip quite fierce.

Hooker Scarra Ntubeni (Achilles), wing Leolin Zas (leg) and flank Steph de Wit (broken ankle) are the only three players in the 50-man wider training group that are currently sidelined with significant injuries.

Fleck said that with so many young players in the group vying to make an impression and put themselves in the reckoning for the 2017 Vodacom Super Rugby campaign, there is healthy competition at the High Performance Centre.

“We have got some incredibly talented young players who are hungry to make an impression, which pushes the senior players as well.

“After a great camp in Hermanus, we want to build some positive momentum as we look ahead to our pre-season games against the Toyota Cheetahs in Harare, SWD in George and Emirates Lions at DHL Newlands,” said the DHL Stormers Head Coach.

DHL Stormers wider training group: Juarno Augustus, Nizaam Carr, Jaco Coetzee, Kurt Coleman, Damian de Allende, Juan de Jongh, Jan de Klerk, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Dan du Plessis, Jean-Luc du Plessis, Rob du Preez, Dewaldt Duvenage, Rynhardt Elstadt, Eben Etzebeth, Martin Ferreira, Huw Jones, Oli Kebble, Eduan Keyter, Cheslin Kolbe, Siya Kolisi, Dan Kriel, Dillyn Leyds, Wilco Louw, Frans Malherbe, Godlen Masimla, SP Marais, Bongi Mbonambi, Khanyo Ngcukana, Sikhumbuzo Notshe, Caylib Oosthuizen, Justin Phillips, Ramone Samuels, JD Schickerling, Seabelo Senatla, Chad Solomon, Brandon Thomson, Kobus van Dyk, JC Janse van Rensberg, Jurie van Vuuren, Frans van Wyk, Chris Van Zyl, Ali Vermaak, Jano Vermaak, EW Viljoen, Cobus Wiese, Damian Willemse, Eduard Zandberg.

Injured: Stephan de Wit, Scarra Ntubeni, Leolin Zas

Picture credit: Michael Maytham